Cycle News

Cycle News 2022 Issue 42 October 18

Cycle News is a weekly magazine that covers all aspects of motorcycling including Supercross, Motocross and MotoGP as well as new motorcycles

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 56 of 135

Ray Crowned BSB Champion B radley Ray celebrated his Ben- netts British Superbike Cham- pionship title at the Brands Hatch season finale over the October 15-16 weekend. The 25-year-old was officially crowned after seal- ing top honors in Saturday's open- ing race, ending the season with nine race wins plus a further 14 podiums for the Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamaha team. Ray finished fifth in Saturday's Sprint race, which was enough to secure a first title for both rider and team. On Sunday, the new champion crashed out unhurt in the second race of the weekend before ending the season with a sixth-place finish. On the final day of the season, Peter Hickman became the 10th different race winner of 2022. The FHO Racing BMW rider held off Danny Buchan and Saturday win- ner Glenn Irwin to secure a visit to the top step of the podium. In the final race of the weekend, Glenn Irwin was able to grab the lead when Buchan made a small mistake at Surtees. This meant that the Honda Racing UK rider started and ended the season with victories on his way to claiming the runner-up spot in the standings, his best championship finish. Andrew Irwin was back on the podium with a strong second place in the final race, just ahead of Buchan. Fifth place for Hick- man was enough for him to end the season as the Bennetts BSB Riders Cup Champion, finishing just ahead of his BMW rivals. Tommy Bridewell's season finished with a fourth place, which secured the Oxford Products Racing Ducati team rider's third in the final standings. This means that three different teams and manufacturers completed the final championship top three. CN SUPERBIKE Race 1 1. Glenn Irwin (Hon) 2. Peter Hickman (BMW) 3. Andrew Irwin (BMW) 4. Tommy Bridewell (Duc) 5. Bradley Ray (Yam) Race 2 1. Peter Hickman (BMW) 2. Danny Buchan (BMW) 3. Glenn Irwin (Hon) 4. Kyle Ryde (Yam) 5. Tommy Bridewell (Duc) Race 3 1. Glenn Irwin (Hon) 2. Andrew Irwin (BMW) 3. Danny Buchan (BMW) 4. Tommy Bridewell (Duc) 5. Peter Hickman (BMW) IN THE WIND P56 Bradley Ray is this year's British Superbike Champion. The Brit wrapped it up at the season finale at Brands Hatch.

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Cycle News - Cycle News 2022 Issue 42 October 18