Cycle News - Archive Issues - 1990's

Cycle News 1996 08 28

Cycle News is a weekly magazine that covers all aspects of motorcycling including Supercross, Motocross and MotoGP as well as new motorcycles

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 1 of 71

IN THE WIND American Tallon Vohland (Kaw) scored the overaJl win at the World Championship 250cc Motocross round in Kester, Belgium, August 18. Vohland finished second in both motos, while a first-place finish in the first moto and a fourth in the second gave defending champ Stefan Everts (Hon) second overall. The series points leader going into the event, Belgian Marnique Bervoets (Suz), crashed twice in the first moto, earning just four points, but came back and won the second moto in front of his come crowd. Despite winning the second moto, Bervoets saw Everts take over the series lead, 355-347, with just one round left in the series, in Switzerland, September 1. Vohland is third in the series with 335 points. Matt Hines (Suz) won the eighth round of the NHRA Pro Stock Motorcycle e ~ 0\ ...... 00 N ... ~ eo .3 ...... 2 Paul Pinsonnault (Hon) and Lou Gerencer (H-D) won the 540 and 800cc classes, respectively, in round seven of the AMA National Hillclimb Series in Manson, Massachusetts, on August 18. Pinsonnault topped David Watson (Hon) and Michael Templeton (Hon) while Gerencer held off Willie Price (HD) and Mickey Dent (H-D). Spud Walters (Hon) turned in a 2-2 moto tally to win the overall in the AMA Western Sound of Thunder Four- or the first time since 1982, the U.S. World Trophy team scored a podium finish at the International Six-Day Enduro when the team, made up of defending anonal Enduro Champion Ty Davis (Kaw), ational Reliability Enduro Champion Rodney Smith (Suz), five-time National Enduro Champion Randy Hawkins (Suz), former enduro champ Steve Hatch (Suz), Chris Smith (Hon) and multi-time Hare Scrambles and Cross Country Champion Scott Summers (Hon), landed third place at the 71st ISDE in Hameenlinna, Finland, August 12-17. It was a battle to the finish for the top five positions, involving teams from Finland, Italy, Sweden, the Czech Republic and the United States, with the host-country team Finland emerging as victor. it was the country's first-ever win in ISDE competition, and also was the first time the event was held there. The defending champions from Italy finished second, followed by the United States the Czech Republic and France. In all, 14 countries fielded World Trophy teams. The United States didn't fare as well in the Junior World division, finishing seventh out of 10 teams. Finland was again the winner, followed by Sweden, Italy, France and the Czech Republic. The U.s. Junior World team was made up of Brian Storrie (Kaw), Mike Lafferty (KTM), Don Knapp (KTM) and William Hamilton (Hus), a last-minute replacement for Darryll Conner, who was injured while practicing at home only a few weeks before the event. Hamilton did not finish the event after breaking his foot on day two. . For the first time ever a team from the United States won the highly competitive Club Team division. Guy Cooper, Fred Hoess and John Nielsen, of the Daytona Dirt Riders, took top honors, defeating 42 other teams. The overall individual winner was KTM rider Giovanni Sala of Italy, who also won the 175cc class (for motorcycles 175cc and larger). Husqvarna-mounted riders topped the remaining three classes: Finland's Petteri Silvan won the 12Scc class; Sweden's Anders Eriksson topped the 400cc Four-Stroke class, and Finland's Kari Tiainen aced the 500cc Four-Stroke class. Finishing second overall to Sala was Great Britain's Paul Edmondson (G-G), followed by Silvan, Davis and Finnish rider Jani Laaksonen (Hon). Frenchman Stephane Peterhansel (yam), last year's overall individual winner, took ninth. This year's "Top American" honors - based on total evaluation points over the entire six days - went to Kawasaki I

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Cycle News - Archive Issues - 1990's - Cycle News 1996 08 28