Cycle News

Cycle News 2017 Issue16 April 25

Cycle News is a weekly magazine that covers all aspects of motorcycling including Supercross, Motocross and MotoGP as well as new motorcycles

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 47 of 141

VOL. 54 ISSUE 16 APRIL 25, 2017 P47 the third race in a row aboard his Motul/SRT/Klim 390 RR, which moved him into the points lead for the first time, unofficially. "I had fun," he said. "I re- ally want to win one of these. Consistency is great, though. If there's any quality you want in the West Hare Scrambles, it's consistency. Balls to the wall isn't necessarily the way to go. I'll take another second; it's all good. "Ty was riding really good today—he was on fire!" After being sick all week (in addition to the added stress of his grandfather's funeral), Purvines DA8 Racing Yamaha's Burson was thankful for his third podium in a row, even if he lost the series points lead to Gerston, 104-102, unofficially. "I kind of struggled in the beginning," John Burr Cycles/Precision Concepts/Thor YZ450FX-mount- ed Burson admitted. "I was coughing the whole way down the creek—just couldn't catch my breath, snot running out of my nose. It felt like I didn't train a day in my life! It's the roughest [course] I've ever rid- den, probably. "I don't think I had very much fun today." But he probably had more fun than teammate Axel Pearson who had a horrible start on his DP Brakes/FMF/6D Helmets-backed YZ450FX and found his late-race charge thwarted by several crashes ranging from simple tip-overs to major get-offs. He picked himself up each time, though, and came in fourth, unofficially keeping his fourth in points with 79. IRC Tires Yamaha rider Justin Bonita followed in fifth with SRT KTM's Steven Godman, FMF Pro 250 winner (for the fourth time this season) J.T. Baker, Six Five O Racing/GasGas rider Joey Fiasconaro and FMF Pro 250cc riders Cole Conatser and Morgan Crawford rounding out the top 10. Mark Kariya 1. Ty Tremaine (KTM) 2. Max Gerston (Bet) 3. Nick Burson (Yam) 4. Axel Pearson (Yam) 5. Justin Bonita (Yam) 6. Steven Godman (KTM) 7. J.T. Baker (Hus) 8. Joey Fiasconaro (Gas) 9. Cole Conatser (KTM) 10. Morgan Crawford (KTM) PHOTOGRAPHY BY MARK KARIYA SRT Husqvarna's J.T. Baker skirts the Pro/AA/A- only waterfall on the very rough, technical five-mile loop, but he took it in stride, riding to his fourth FMF Pro 250 triumph. Mason Matthies extended his points lead in the Big Wheel class by winning for the third time as the season reached its halfway point.

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Cycle News - Cycle News 2017 Issue16 April 25